“A table for one”: the fruits of dining SOLO

Katie Sea
4 min readSep 3, 2019

Many people preach about self-love and self-acceptance nowadays and I believe that that is very important. Travel has led me to many discoveries of how to accept myself, including by helping me to find my body confidence and making friends with strangers. In my opinion, taking yourself out to eat or drink is one of the best ways to really care for yourself!

Why dine solo?

I truly believe that being comfortable with this (without being on your phone) and doing it fairly regularly can not only fill you with confidence, it also means that you spend good, quality time with yourself.

You are the person who is the centre of your world. You are the person whom you should be at peace with. In my opinion, if you know yourself and love yourself you can only reflect good energy out to the rest of the world. I mean we never will get to the point of fully knowing ourselves, but getting closer to understanding what makes you ‘tick’ can help all areas of your life, as a wise man once told me (that may sound cliché but those words of advice were actually given to me by a wise Macedonian doctor).

If you take yourself out, you have an opportunity to sit with your thoughts and potentially write them down as I am now. I’m currently enjoying a half pint of some Balkan beer, whilst I enjoy the views of Lake Ohrid (saved from the sun by a restaurant umbrella). Writing down my thoughts and feelings helps me to understand myself more and also helps me to work through the…

--

--

Katie Sea

Biology Grad & PADI Divemaster | ex-Producer at a travel startup and accumulated a year's worth of travel experience | Writing whatever piques my curiosity